What is wrong with the world?

Leave a comment

February 20, 2013 by heathernwelch

I know that I said that I was going to slow down blogging, but I am very uneasy about a trend that I am seeing in television shows.  I know…most of you know that what we watch is not great for us…but this is taking it to a whole new level.  Spoiler alert: Downton Abbey, Glee, Grey’s Anatomy, and whatever else I can think of.

Why can’t we just be happy when a couple falls in love and gets married.  Are we so depraved of a generation that we don’t find that entertaining?  No, we must have people cheat and if you’re Downton Abbey…DIE!  Why can’t we be satisfied with people getting married, having babies and living their lives together.  Do the people who write and produce these shows think that we need tragedy or scandal to keep us hooked?  I mean, I guess on some level it is working.  People still watch these shows…and I am one of them.  Maybe I am being a hypocrite…but that’s another issue. 

I don’t think I can handle the drama and tragedy that is Downton Abbey.  I mean seriously…could they kill off any more characters?  Does it really take all this to keep us entertained.  Well, not me.  I can’t handle the emotional upheaval of these shows anymore.  Let alone when the writers kill off a brand-new daddy. 

I love good tv shows.  Downton Abbey has become a favorite of mine as it has become for so many other people, but I think this must be over.  And what about Glee.  Can’t Will and Emma just get married and live happily ever after?  Why the heck not?  They are the old people in the show…let them have some happiness.  I mean there is plenty of other scandal in the show…can’t we get one marriage and happy healthy relationship from it.  I guess not. 

Grey’s Anatomy has actually been one of the better shows dealing with relationships.  What a shocker?!?!?!  This used to be the biggest sleep around show out there. 

I know that many of you are thinking…well, Heather, just stop watching it.  And you know what?  I just might.  I like to relax and watch a show to unwind, but maybe I need something new to help me with that.  Well, that was a great rant for me.  Thanks for listening! 

Heather out.

Leave a Reply

