Update on the diet

1

February 14, 2013 by heathernwelch

So, it is expensive to eat without processed food and it is very different.  But, we are doing it and it is going great!  Our biggest problem we thought was going to be Ben…not true!  Ben is loving it.  I think he still misses goldfish and popsicles, but he has found other yummy foods.  I am somewhat shocked by the prices.  In two weeks, we have spent more than we usually would on groceries.  If you are super curious about exact prices, email me at heathernwelch@gmail.com. 

I have found some yummy new recipes.  I hope to have time to update you on all the new recipes.  Here are a few of them though: whole-wheat banana pancakes; whole wheat chicken ranch mac n’ cheese; roasted veggie and black bean burritos; whole wheat chocolate chip cookies; sausage and bean soup; sweet potato, quinoa, chicken stew; tacos with lots of yummy stuff; whole wheat pizza with tons of veggies; granola;  and homemade chicken nuggets with my own whole wheat breadcrumbs.  Needless to say, I have been cooking almost non-stop.  And cleaning because it is a huge mess to make all this food. 

Ben’s diet has mainly consisted of the chicken nuggets, pancakes, french toast, peanut butter sandwiches, pizza, cheese, fruit, raisins, craisins, smoothies, whole grain chips, english muffins (don’t meet the requirements), and the sweets I have made.  He is doing great on it.  He’s eating more than ever and not overly complaining.  He is also trying most of the new foods that we have had.  I could not be more pleased with his progress. 

Jack eats most things I give him.  He prefers to feed himself, so he eats a lot of what we eat.  I just tear it up and put it on his plate.  He goes to town on it.  No problems with his eating habits, as some random woman pointed out to me in the store (awkward!). 

So, for all of you out there anxiously awaiting how the changes are going…they are going great.  We feel pretty good about it.  I might be coming down with a cold which is a total bummer, but we are doing great with the new diet.  I am enjoying trying new foods and greatly looking forward to going to the Winter Farmer’s Market on Saturday!  And bonus, my parents are coming to town this weekend!  YAY!  Thank you for hanging in there with me on the new endeavor.  I will keep you posted!

One thought on “Update on the diet

  1. angiegmiller says:

    Hi Heather! I found this recipe on homemade french fries and it looks awesome (and easy)! Thought maybe you guys would like to try it. This blog is really great too.

    http://www.imperfecthomemaking.com/2012/08/how-to-make-never-fail-oven-fries.html

Leave a Reply

