How to get started running

1

January 21, 2013 by heathernwelch

I had a friend ask me how I started running, so I thought I should write a post on how I got started.  After my second son, Jack, was born, I wanted to get some exercise.  I hated running, so I started walking.  I am understating how much I hated running….like I HATED it!  My hubby always told me that I could run, but I didn’t want to.  I couldn’t ever breathe and it just made me feel so out of shape.  I hated it.  Ok, I think you now understand how much I disliked running.

So, I started walking.  However, I got bored pretty quickly.  So, I was feeling good one day and just attempted to run.  I ran until I was tired…which was like 60 seconds.  Literally.  So, I stopped running and walked until I wasn’t tired and then did it again.  So, for a couple of weeks, I walked for about 3 minutes and then ran for 1 minute.  I then started to increase the running time and decrease the walking time.  I did it too quickly and had to learn the hard way.  I had plantar fasciitis and had to stop and have physical therapy until it got better.  So, then I started again, but this time nice and slow.  I realized that my lungs were ahead of my legs in training.  I wouldn’t feel tired with my lungs, but my legs were killing me!  So, I walked for 2 minutes and ran for 2 minutes and just increased it gradually.  Then one day, I went out and ran a mile.  Wow, it was really hard and painful, but I did it!  I felt so accomplished.  So, I just kept going.  Run like 3 to 5 minutes, then walk for 2.  I just increased the amount of time until I was running a half an hour, then 45 minutes, and then this week, an hour.

When I had run about 20 minutes straight, I ran a 5K, 3.1 miles.  I had never ran that far straight.  I didn’t care about time, I just wanted to run it all the way.  Eric and my friend Tim, a marathoner, ran it with me.  I did it!  It took me 32 minutes, which I thought was so slow.  Then I developed a new goal and just keep chipping away at it.

I don’t have much time to run with my crazy life.  So, I get up early a couple of days a week and go to the gym before my men are awake.  When it is light enough outside, I will run right when Eric gets home from work around our neighborhood.  I also never knew that after you have a good run, you have to recover.  I will have like one great run a week and then end up recovering the rest of the week.  Recovery days are really hard because running just hurts those days.  You feel so sore and just tired.  Just push through it though!  I have noticed a huge difference in my energy levels and appetite.  I unfortunately have gained a little bit of weight because my metabolism increased more than the exercise has kept up with…but I’m working on it.  I overall just feel great!

My friend and coach Wendy told me to run as slow as possible.  Run so slow that I almost felt ridiculous.  When I did that, I was able to run way longer.

A couple of things to keep in mind:  stretching before and after is important; ice sore spots; wear good shoes; run slow; and just do it how you want to….or else you will hate it.

I now actually enjoy running…I can’t believe I just said that.  But it is true.  I enjoy it and feel great when I do it.  If you want some encouragement to get started, talk to me.  I would love to help.

And for the newest update…I am training for a half marathon!  Woo-hoo!

(sorry this post is all over the place, I’m very distracted today!)

One thought on “How to get started running

  1. Melissa says:

    Good work Heather! I’m so proud of you for starting something and sticking with it!

Leave a Reply

