Dead to Sin, Alive to God

1

December 12, 2012 by heathernwelch

I have been reading a bible study for the last couple of months.  It is my first ever structured bible study, but I can definitely say that it will not be my last.  This morning, the study took me through verses about the cross and how Jesus being crucified was crucifying our sin.  Every passage seemed so amazing and mind-boggling.  You know how you have to just stop and think about something because it is so huge and awesome.  Well, that happened to me today.  I wanted to share two texts today from my study.

First, Romans 6:6-11: “”We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin.  For one who has died has been set free from sin.  Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.  We know that Christ, being raised from the dead, will never die again; death no longer has dominion over him.  For the death he died he died to sin, once for all, but the life he lives he lives to God.  So you also must consider yourselves dead to sin and alive to God in Christ Jesus.”  Can you wrap your brain around it?  It is too good.  That we (those who love Jesus) are alive to God.  The only way this is possible is through Jesus, who died for us on a cross.  Dying for our sin and now we get to be alive in God.  Crazy!

The second text is Galatians 2: 19-20: “For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God.  I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives through me.”  Read the last sentence again.  It is such good good news.  I really don’t have much else to say about it.  It blows my mind that my God is so gracious to let his son die, so that I can live through Christ instead of my sinful self.  We are not alone.  We don’t have to try to do this all by ourselves.  But instead, we get Jesus to live life through.  And that isn’t even mentioning the Holy Spirit to guide and direct.  So, what can we do?  We can thank and worship God.

One thought on “Dead to Sin, Alive to God

  1. rhonda says:

    you are doing a great job with your blog..I especially liked todays..With GOD everything is possible

Leave a Reply

