Grace

Leave a comment

December 11, 2012 by heathernwelch

I used to be a perfectionist and a moralist.  You know, don’t drink because bad stuff could happen when you do that.  Or even, I am too good to get drunk.  I was a Pharisee.  A little over a year and a half ago, God revealed his glorious gift of grace to me.  I used to be devastated when I sinned.  I thought that I was above that.  So, when I hurt my friend’s feelings or lost my temper, I hated having to admit to it.  I wanted so badly to be perfect.  My poor husband had to deal with this.  It is hard to tell your perfectionist wife when she is wrong without her either crying or getting angry and not speaking to you.  What an awesome and patient man God has for me.  So, back to grace…I started reading Give Them Grace: Dazzling Your Kids with the Love of Jesus by Elyse M. Fitzpatrick and Jessica Thompson.  I thought I was reading it so that I could be a better parent.  However, God really opened my eyes to his amazing grace.  He began working it into me that I am a sinner and I will sin.  Now, I should try not to sin, but face it Heather….it’s going to happen.  After reading this book, our churches annual conference was on GRACE!  So, God has really been building this into me.  That I will sin and I should repent and ask for forgiveness from God and those I have sinned against.  And then…I get to live in that forgiveness trying not to repeat that sin.  It is a beautiful and amazing gift that my God has given to me and I am finally starting to understand and live in it.  

Leave a Reply

