Not a runner

1

December 9, 2012 by heathernwelch

I have always detested running.  I got so worn out on it during High School basketball.  We weren’t very good, so we ran a lot!  But, after baby 2.0 (Jack), I decided it was time to get into shape.  I started walking.  I kept finding that I was getting bored, so I would run if I felt like it.  I successfully ran my first 5K after 2ish months of training.  Now, I regularly run 20 to 30 minutes at a time 3 to 4 times a week.  However, I still hate running!  While running, I am mostly just thinking, “this is stupid,” “whose idea was this?”  I have marathon friends, so I asked one what to do.  Why was it so hard for me?  She recommended that I run as slow as possible.  So I tried it.  I ran so incredibly slow that I felt ridiculous.  But do you know what?  It worked!  I ran 35 minutes straight, a new personal record for me!  I guess Wendy Miller knows her stuff.  So, I am training for a 10K in the spring.  For all of you out there that think you can’t run, I bet you can.  You just really have to want it and stick with it.  I eat cookies on a regular basis because I now run.  No run…no cookies.  Not worth the sacrifice.  I guess I might make an ok runner after all.

One thought on “Not a runner

  1. wendymiller82 says:

    Woohoo!!

Leave a Reply

