Cooking chicken in bulk

Leave a comment

December 9, 2012 by heathernwelch

I have always hated cooking chicken.  I am a big pre-cooker and freeze kind of mama.  I was boiling it all at once and then cutting it and freezing, but it took so much time.  I recently tried putting a big pack of Sam’s Club chicken ($1.77 a pound!) in the crock-pot   I added a little bit of chicken broth and some water.  Then I cooked it until my meat thermometer read that it was done.  It was super easy to just shred it and bag it up.  So, I have a month and a half worth of chicken frozen in individual Ziploc freezer bags ready to pull out and add to any meal.  It is so handy.  It takes at least 15 minutes out of my dinner routine.  Very useful for this mama!

Leave a Reply

